Show Articles


committee to look into reservation


just saw an article on Rediff that govt has constituted a comnittee to look into the reservation issue.

The committee includes B Mungekar, member, Planning Commission; R Mashelkar, director general, CSIR; S K Thorat, UGC chairman; R A Yadav, vice chairman, AICTE; N K Ganguly, director general, ICMR; G Mohan Gopal, former VC, National Law School and R V Vaidyanatha Ayyar, former secretary.

Committee asked to submit its report by August 31, 2006

the government also appointed three groups to go into specific details about universities and institutes regarding the course of action for giving effect to the OBC quota in a time-bound manner

The Group for Technological/Engineering institutions will be headed by M Anandakrishnan, former vice chancellor of Anna University. It will have Sanjay Dhande, director, IIT, Kanpur; S K Dube, director, IIT, Kharagpur; Sanjeev Bhargava, director, IIT, Jabalpur; R P Dahiya, director, NIT, Jaipur; N Balakrishnan, IISc; Y V Rao, director, NIT Warangal; I M Mishra, IIT, Roorkee; and Indira Rajaraman, NIPFP as its members.

Headed by Samuel Paul, former director of IIM, Bangalore, the group for Management institutions will have Bakul Dholakia, director, IIM, Ahmedabad; Krishna Kumar, director, IIM, Kozhikode; Shekhar Chaudhury, director, IIM, Kolkata; S D Awale, director, NITIE, Mumbai; and Devi Singh, director, IIM, Lucknow as its members.

The committee members look impressive. Hope this time Government of Inda is serious and not playing games to gain time

update 2:
seems like government was pulled by Supreme Court of India read ibnlive article
before it announced the committee.

anti reservation, tags: anti reservation, protests,student protests
created:05/29/2006 07:00AM
Live Search:


Best of My Posts